Singladura // The journey of life

Me encontraba despierto, empapado por un sudor frío que caía por mi frente y cada gota la sentía como una punzada que me impedía olvidar el dolor físico y las náuseas de este mundo enfermo, más enfermo que yo.


I was awake, drenched by a cold sweat dripping from my forehead, and I was feeling each drop as a twinge that stopped me forgetting the physical pain and the nauseas of this sick world, sicker than me.

Respiraba de forma pausada, porque sabía que era la mejor manera para estabilizar los latidos que resonaban en mi cabeza cada noche. Miraba mis manos y podía observar la impotencia convertida en limitación y en un desgarrador sentimiento de culpa y odio hacia mí mismo. Esas mismas manos eran las que tapaban mi rostro durante muchas horas al día, sirviendo de barrera separadora entre mi mundo interior de caos incontrolable y el exterior lleno de obstáculos y desesperación.

I was breathing deeply, because I knew it was the best way to slow down the heartbeats that pounded in my head every night. I looked at my hands and could see the impotence which had become a limitation and a heartrending feeling of guilt and hatred towards myself. These same hands had now covered my face for many hours during the day, acting as a dividing wall between my inner world of uncontrollable chaos and the outer world full of obstacles and desperation.

– ¡Todos arriba, es la hora del desayuno! – gritó una voz desde el fondo de la sala.

“Everybody up, breakfast!” shouted a voice from the back of the room.

Escuché las cortinas correr por el tubo metálico que las sostenía, arañándolas con un sonido rasgado, haciendo pasar una lámina de luz ingrávida que chocaba contra mis manos aún en mi rostro. Se notaba un calor especial, una caricia que hablaba, intentando explicarme que días malgastados son oportunidades perdidas. Pero los míos dejaron hace mucho tiempo de existir… me convertí en un alma gris, consumidora de tiempo, llena de vacíos.

I heard the curtains sliding along the metal tube they hung from, scratching them with a ripping sound, letting through a weightless sliver light which clashed against my hands still on my face. I noticed a special warmth, a spoken caress trying to tell me that wasted days are missed opportunities… But mine had ceased to exist long ago… I had become a grey soul, a consumer of time, full of emptiness.

– ¡Vamos Anwar, despierta o llegaremos tarde a tu rehabilitación! Me llamo Anwar, tengo 19 años y mi nombre significa luz. Me lo puso mi madre nada más nacer, porque venía a iluminar una casa vacía. Vacía de risas, carente de cariño.

“Come on, Anwar, wake up or we’ll be late for your rehabilitation!”
I’m Anwar, I’m 19 and my name means light. I was given it by my mother as soon as I was born because I came to lighten an empty house; empty of laughs, lacking of affection.

Vivía en un pequeño pueblo bañado por el mar Mediterráneo en la costa del extremo oriental del golfo de Sidra, su nombre es Ajdabiya, situada en el centro norte de Libia. Recuerdo sus llanuras áridas por las que jugaba de pequeño, rodeado de mi familia y amigos, todos aquellos que hoy han desaparecido y que tanto echo de menos, ¿por qué no se llevaron mi vida también? ¿Por qué me dejaron sólo la mitad de ella?

I lived in a small village bathed by the Mediterranean Sea on the far eastern coast of the Gulf of Sidra, called Ajdabiya, in the northern centre of Libya. I remember its dry plains where I used to play when I was a child, surrounded by my family and friends, all gone and greatly missed by now. Why didn’t they take my life too? Why did they only leave me half of it?

– Anwar, siempre te quedas el último, por favor, intenta cooperar un poquito más como el resto de tus compañeros. – Me susurró la enfermera Diana más cerca del oído.

“Anwar, you’re always the last. Please, try to cooperate a little more like the others,” nurse Diana whispered closer to my ear.

Noté el contacto de unas manos suaves y cuidadas contra las mías; ásperas y agrietadas. Y sentí cómo intentaba separarlas de mi rostro aún húmedo de pesadillas carentes de vida, de recuerdos tan exactos como fotografías en movimiento. Y entonces vislumbré ese rostro, impenetrable y serio, pero lleno de una belleza devastadora.

I noticed the contact of soft, well-cared hands against mine, which were rough and cracked. I felt how she was trying to remove them from my face still wet from lifeless nightmares, memories as vivid as moving pictures. And then I glimpsed that face, impenetrable and serious, but full of devastating beauty.

– Es la última vez que te lo digo Anwar, si no te levantas no hay desayuno. Ayer fue el último día que te lo traigo a la cama.

“It’s the last time I’ll tell you, Anwar, if you don’t get up there’ll be no breakfast. Yesterday was the last time I brought it to you in bed.”

De hecho no sé ni si quiera si es enfermera, creo que se llaman voluntarios, pero no llego a comprender quién quiere acompañar en el sufrimiento a personas que sólo esperan la muerte, con ansia y desesperación. Es inconcebible pensar en gastar un tiempo valioso en limpiar a otros, tanto de sus excrementos como de sus penas mentales. También intentan hacerles ver, que la vida no está llena de tanta mierda como parece, y que las ganas de seguir viviendo se incrementan con pequeños objetivos, como poder levantarse por uno mismo, o no orinarse por las noches, todo un logro vaya.

In fact, I don’t even know if she is a nurse; I think they call themselves volunteers, but I don’t understand who would want to be with suffering people who are only anxiously and desperately awaiting death. It is inconceivable to think of spending valuable time cleaning up after others, both their excrements and their mental pain. They also try to make them see that life is not as full of shit as it seems, and the will to live is increased by achieving small objectives, such as getting up by yourself or not wetting the bed at night, a real success…

Pero a mí no me engañan.

But they can’t fool me.

Y no lo hacen porque tengo miedo, y le doy gracias, porque sin él no habría mañana. Miedo a pensar que mi nombre sea sólo el recuerdo del pasado, ya que aprendí que de nada sirve ser luz si no vas a iluminar el camino de los demás. Como hizo el relámpago aterrador que cegó mi felicidad y mi futuro.

And they can’t because I feel fear and appreciate it, because without it there would be no tomorrow. The fear of thinking that my name is just the memory of the past as I learnt that it is not worth being a light if you don’t lighten the path of others. As did the terrifying lightning that blinded my happiness and my future.

Voy notando cómo la mano de Diana penetra por mi espalda, llegando hasta la base de la columna, pasando por cada una de las vértebras hasta que dejo de sentirla. Me incorpora de la cama situando una almohada como respaldo, para sujetar el balanceo de mi torso, mientras me acerca a la creadora de mis pesadillas, al puñal de cada gota de sudor que cae noche tras noche sobre mis mejillas, formando caminos que no puedo recorrer.

I gradually feel Diana’s hand moving down my back, reaching the base of my spine, moving over each of the vertebrae until I don’t feel it anymore. She sits me up in bed and places a pillow behind me, to support my torso, while she moves closer to the maker of my nightmares, to the dagger of each drop of sweat that every night falls upon my cheeks, forming paths that I can’t walk along.

Odio el chirriar de esa silla, sus ruedas delanteras se agitan como si el demonio estuviera dentro de ellas, y me la pone a mi lado. Con un gesto enérgico, extiendo mi mano empujando la silla, queriendo destruirla, pero no me doy cuenta que se ha parado en la pierna de Diana, golpeándola bruscamente.

I hate the squeaking of that chair, its front wheels shaking as if the devil was inside them, and she places it by my side. With an energetic gesture, I hold my hand out pushing the chair, wanting to destroy it, but I realise that it has stopped at Diana’s leg, hitting it sharply.

– Anwar, por favor. Sólo estamos aquí para ayudarte, pero no podremos conseguirlo si tú eres el que no quieres – Contestó con los ojos vidriosos que iluminaban su rostro.

“Anwar, please, we’re here to help you but can only do so if you really want it,” she said with the glassy eyes that lit her face.

-P….pe… pe, perdona – Contesté con la garganta seca y el orgullo a un lado.

“So… so… sorry,” I answered with my dry throat and my swallowed pride.

Entre los dos conseguimos disponerme en la silla. Ella me empujaba mientras yo me miraba las palmas de las manos y acompañaba el movimiento con la vista hasta llegar a mis piernas, o mejor dicho, donde deberían estar.

Between us we managed to get me on the chair. She was pushing me while I was looking at the palms of my hands and followed the movement with my eyes until reaching my legs, or rather, where my legs had been.

Aún recuerdo la mañana, de hace 3 años, en la que jugaba con mis amigos en el descampado a las afueras de la ciudad, a pocos metros de la carretera que enlaza Ajdabiya con Bengasi. Nos observaba mi madre Liynaa junto a sus vecinas, que esperaban a la furgoneta de trabajadores de la compañía eléctrica de la que formaba parte mi padre Sayyid. Nosotros correteábamos sobre la tierra, y levantábamos un polvo blanquecino que se perdía a causa de la ligera brisa proveniente de la llanura. En el horizonte se perdía una línea recta de asfalto irregular por la que, siempre antes del anochecer, se vislumbraba aquel automóvil blanco y viejo como el polvo del camino.

I still remember the morning, three years ago, when I was playing with my friends in the open space on the outskirts of the city, a few metres from the road from Ajdabiya to Bengasi. My mother Liynaa was looking at us with the neighbours, who were waiting for the employees’ van from the electricity company where my father Sayyid worked. We were running around on the ground, raising a whitish dust carried off by the light breeze from the plain. On the horizon, a straight line of uneven asphalt vanished into the distance on which, always before sunset, we could make out that white van old, as the dust on the road.

Pero ese día fue distinto, todos observábamos reunidos cómo se acercaba aquella furgoneta. La pelota con la que jugábamos la agarraba con fuerza entre mi mano derecha y la cintura, y sea por lo que fuere, el destino o magia negra, la fuerza de presión cedió, dejando escapar la pelota golpeando mi pié derecho. Ésta empezó a rodar entre las piernas de mis amigos y yo agachado la perseguí a como quien escapa de la muerte.

But that day was different. We were all watching the van getting closer. I was holding the ball we were playing with tightly between my right hand and my waist and, whether because of destiny or black magic, my grip loosened, releasing the ball which hit my right foot. It began to roll between my friends’ legs as if it was escaping death and, bent over, I ran after it.

Al recogerla, me giré. Fuera del alcance del grupo numeroso observaba la escena. En cuanto esa furgoneta dejaba la carretera para aparcar en el campo de tierra, observé perfectamente, cómo una rueda penetraba en el terreno, activando una trampilla que bajó y subió aplastando un artefacto extraño, cubierto por la tierra, semienterrado, era una mina. La que acabó con mis padres y amigos que se encontraban a su lado y la misma que hizo que restos de metralla se clavaran por todo mi cuerpo, especialmente en las piernas, creando un daño irreparable, más en el alma que en las piernas, que tuvieron que ser cortadas para salvar el resto del cuerpo pero amputando cualquier tipo de esperanza.

When I caught it, I turned round. Away from the crowd I watched the scene. As soon as the van left the road to park in the field, I clearly saw how one wheel sank into the ground, activating a trap which went down and up crushing a strange device, covered by the ground, half-buried: it was a mine. The mine that killed my parents and friends who were standing next to it and sent pieces of shrapnel flying into my body, especially my legs, causing irreparable damage, more to my soul than my legs, which had to be cut off to save the rest of my body while severing any kind of hope.

Me adentraba en la “Sala de la Muerte”, era una habitación muy amplia, iluminada por unos lucernarios de una cubierta hecha de madera, las vigas se enlazaban entre sí creando una cercha que sujetaba de manera casi mística un espacio enorme, sin un solo pilar que rompiera la monotonía de esta sala inmersa en luz. Esta misma habitación, servía de comedor y de lugar de rehabilitación para los más necesitados. En la “Casa de la Muerte”, solíamos estar aquellos que la sociedad no quería, y que unos pocos se entregaban en cuerpo y alma por intentar salvar la dignidad que nos quedaba. Esta gente, trabajaba por poco más que cobijo y alimento, sus asociaciones se veían mermadas cada vez más a la hora de ayudar, ya que la situación en estos países se consideraba misión de alto riesgo, pero no se rendían nunca. Se encargaban de despertarnos, darnos la comida a lo largo del día, ayudarnos en nuestros ejercicios físicos y prepararnos mentalmente para un regalo místico casi divino, una vida llena de vida, de oportunidades y optimismo. Nosotros sólo veíamos tristeza, agonía y muerte. Por eso le pusimos ese nombre al albergue, porque no queríamos engañarnos a nosotros mismos, perdiendo la finalidad de nuestro destino.

I was entering the “Room of Death”; a very spacious area, lit by skylights in a wooden roof, the beams interlinked with each other creating a frame that almost mystically supported an enormous space, without a single pillar that broke the monotony of that room immersed in light. It was also used as a dining room and rehabilitation area for the most needy. The “House of Death” usually took in those that society rejected, run by people devoted body and soul to trying to save the little dignity left to us. They worked for little more than food and shelter, and their associations were increasingly threatened, as the situation in these countries was considered a high-risk mission but they never gave up. They woke us up, gave us food throughout the day, helped us with our physical exercises and prepared us mentally for a mystical, almost divine, gift: a life full of life, opportunities and optimism. But we only saw sadness, agony and death. This is why we gave the shelter that name, because we didn’t want to fool ourselves, denying our destiny.

Esa mañana, el cocinero Julien había preparado huevos cocidos, era domingo, y los domingos se preparaban a los afectados de una manera especial. Ponían globos decorando la gran sala, y les vestían con camisa y pantalón, porque aquellos que aún tenían algo de familia, esperaban con fe una visita de misericordia. La mayoría eran ancianos, afectados por la enfermedad de la soledad y el desánimo de haber perdido a sus hijos o nietos. Otros como yo, habían perdido parte de su cuerpo por metralla “amiga” en disturbios en sus barrios. Y por último estaban los “Renegados” aquellos que sus familias abandonaban en la parte norte del cobertizo, cerca del lago. Normalmente eran bebés de familias pobres y sin recursos, gente que buscaba un cambio en sus vidas y emigraban a países vecinos.

That morning, the cook Julien had made hard-boiled eggs. It was Sunday and on Sundays the residents were given a special treatment. They decorated the large room with balloons and dressed them in shirt and trousers because those who still had some relatives hopefully awaited a visit. Most were old people, afflicted by the sickness of solitude and the dejection of having lost their children or grandchildren. Some others like me had lost part of their body because of the “friendly” shrapnel in the upheavals in their neighbourhoods. And, finally, there were the “abandoned”, those whose families had left them. They were usually babies of poor families without resources, people who were looking for a change in their lives and emigrated to neighbouring countries.

En ese momento vi a Diana acercarse con un bulto entre sus brazos.

It was then when I saw Diana moving towards me with a bulk between her arms.

– Toma Anwar, cuídamelo un segundo, ahora mismo vuelvo. – comentó mientras se alejaba hacia la cocina.

“Take him, Anwar, look after him for a second. I’ll be right back,” she said while heading towards the kitchen.

Por un momento no me di cuenta de lo que había depositado aquella monitora sobre mí, hasta que algo toco mi mano.

For a while I didn’t realise what she had given me, until something touched my hand.

Me estremecí al notar que tenía a un “Renegado” entre ellas. Un bebé me miraba con los ojos muy abiertos, su pelo azabache y descolocado me recordaba al mío, y su mirada, penetrante como aquellos rayos de luz que caían cenitalmente, me bendecían con una sonrisa inesperada, correspondida por unos labios que hacía mucho tiempo que no lo hacían.

I shivered when I realised I had an abandoned baby in my arms, who was looking at me with his eyes wide open. His black dishevelled hair reminded me of mine, and his expression, sharp as those rays of light that fell from above, blessed me with an unexpected smile, which I returned, something I hadn’t done for a long time.

– Muchas gracias Anwar. Necesitaba un poco de leche para el pequeño Omar. – Dijo Diana mientras me quitaba al recién nacido de mis brazos. Una mirada de soslayo me interrogó mientras se alejaba, y con cierta incertidumbre, pude observar como Diana miraba aún mis labios sonrientes.

“Thanks a lot, Anwar. I needed some milk for little Omar,” said Diana while taking the newborn from my arms. A sidelong glance interrogated me when she moved away and I could just about see how Diana was still looking at my smiling lips.

Posicioné cada una de mis manos sobre el metal helado de las grandes ruedas de la silla, hasta ahora nunca había hecho nada por intentar valerme por mí mismo, no debería ser muy difícil. Con mucho cuidado empecé a moverme para acercarme a las ventanas que enmarcaban un pequeño campo de cultivo donde algunos de los voluntariados trabajaban varias horas al día. Otros enseñaban, bajo un pequeño tejadillo, a una docena de niños a leer y cantar. Si miraba dentro de la sala, era donde se encontraban los que necesitaban un cuidado especial.

I placed my hands on the frozen metal of the big wheels of the chair. Until then I hadn’t done anything to try to manage on my own; it shouldn’t be that difficult. Very carefully, I began to move closer to the windows that framed a small field of crops where some volunteers worked several hours a day. Others were teaching a dozen children to read and sing under a small roof, which I could see was for those who needed special care.

Continuamente los voluntarios intentaban ayudar y animar a aquellos que más lo necesitaban, unas veces lo conseguían y otras no, pero nunca perdían la ilusión de volver a intentarlo. Era la primera vez que observa con tanto detenimiento el trabajo de estas personas, no tan distintas a mí.

The volunteers were endlessly trying to help and encourage those who most needed it; sometimes they were successful but on other occasions they failed. However, they never stopped trying. It was the first time that I had so carefully observed the work of those people, not so different from me.

Esa misma noche me prometí algún tipo de cambio, no por los demás, si no por mí mismo. Tenía que ser consciente de la dificultad, pero aún más de mis posibilidades y sin lucha no hay recompensa.

That same night I promised myself that I would change, not for the others but for myself. I had to be aware of the difficulties but even more of my potential, and with no struggle there is no reward.

Y cambié. Esa misma mañana el brillo de mis ojos parecía alumbrar las estancias e incluso a las personas que estaban a mi alrededor. Ayudé a Diana en todo lo que pude e iba de aquí para allá yo sólo, sin ayuda de nadie más. Porque notaba más fuerza que nunca, y mi corazón latía más fuerte.

And I did change. That same morning the brightness of my eyes seemed to light up the rooms and even the people around me. I helped Diana with anything I could and I moved around on my own, without anyone’s help because I felt stronger than ever and that my heart beat with more intensity.

Empecé a ayudar en la “Sala de la Muerte”, a los ancianos que no sabían otro idioma que el nuestro. Empecé a ser el intermediario de todas esas personas y también de profesores que querían empapar a los pequeños de sus conocimientos. A las pocas semanas tenía puesta la misma camiseta que los voluntarios, sin ni si quiera yo saber muy bien qué significaba. Si era parte de ellos, de los afectados o una persona como otra cualquiera, parte de unos y otros, mezcla de ánimos y prioridades y ahora la mía la tenía clara; Descubrir. Descubrir hasta qué punto era diferente, descubrir en qué momento empecé a serlo, y por qué ahora intentaba cambiarlo. Esas preguntas eran las que me hacían levantarme cada mañana con una intención clara; encontrar un motivo por el cual, sonreír.

In the “Room of Death”, I began to help the elderly who did not know any other language than ours. I began to be the intermediary for all those people and also for teachers who wanted to impart their knowledge to the youngest. In a few weeks, I was wearing the same t-shirt as the volunteers without really understanding what it meant, whether I was one of them or one of the patients, or a bit of both, a mixture of spirits and priorities. And now I was clear: I wanted to discover. To discover how far I was different, to discover when I began to be so, and why I was trying to change this now. Those questions made me wake up every morning with a clear intention: to find a reason to smile.

Viajábamos a los pueblos más cercanos, enseñábamos a los más pequeños diferentes formas de trabajar la tierra y a los más mayores les contaba las historias que aprendí de mi padre sobre las estrellas, cazadores de constelaciones y Dioses enamorados de un cuerpo humano. Y Diana, siempre me venía a la mente su sonrisa, más pura que la luna. Más bella que la nebulosa de Orión.

We travelled to nearby villages, we showed children different ways of working the land and I told the adults the stories I had learnt from my father about the stars, hunters of constellations and gods in love with humans. And Diana’s smile always came to my mind, purer than the moon, more beautiful than the Orion Nebula.

Un día, volviendo de una excursión al mar, encontré el nexo de unión con esta gente, el acorde puente que me uniera de nuevo a la ilusión de volver cada día a la vida y por consiguiente a la de los demás. Todos se habían reunido en torno a la puerta de entrada formando una fila. Conocía todos sus nombres, sus historias y sus sueños. Los había escuchado, comprendido y abrazado. Porque a veces no hace falta nada más.

One day, on the way back from an outing to the sea, I discovered the link with those people, the bridge that would unite me again with the hope of returning every day to life and, consequently, to that of the others. Everyone had gathered around the entrance gate forming a line. I knew their names, their stories and their dreams. I had listened to them, understood and embraced them. Because, sometimes, that’s all you need.

Se fueron separando poco a poco, dejando ver un gran cartel que colgaba de la fachada principal de madera, “Casa de la Luz”. El silencio era atronador. Mis latidos acompañaban al temblor de unas manos nerviosas y mi rostro se empapaba de unas lágrimas que caían con fuerza, empujadas por el ánimo de toda esta gente, de mi gente. Entre todos habían creado un pequeño bote con sus pequeños ahorros.

They were moving aside little by little, letting me see a large sign hanging from the main wooden façade, “House of Light”. The silence was deafening. My heartbeats accompanied the shaking of two nervous hands and my face was getting drenched by falling tears, provoked by the spirits of all those people, of my people. They had built a small boat together with their savings.

Pasaron meses hasta que conseguimos recaudar el dinero suficiente para un vuelo. Un vuelo de esperanza. El mismo vuelo que me ha traído ante ustedes. Sólo quería aprovechar la oportunidad de contaros la historia de una vida que se repite en todos los lugares. Gracias por escucharme, y os reto a intentar conseguir la verdadera esencia de una vida con sentido, cooperativa y sostenible, humana y ética, bella y
pura. Entregada al optimismo del amor.

Months went by until we managed to collect enough money to buy a plane ticket. A flight of hope. The same flight that has brought me before you. I only wanted to take the opportunity to tell you the story of a life that is repeated everywhere. Thank you for listening to me, and I challenge you to try to achieve the true essence of a meaningful life, cooperative and sustainable, human and ethical, beautiful and pure. Devoted to the optimism of love.

Cientos de ojos me miraban, había contado el relato de mi corta existencia a cientos de políticos y jefes de estado. No quería beneficios económicos ni ayudas a mi pueblo. Únicamente tenía en mente un objetivo, realizar un pequeño cambio ético en las personas, priorizando en mejoras sociales antes que en beneficios personales. Un apoyo global que pusiera al hombre en el punto de mira de armas como la cooperación y el desarrollo equitativo. No quería emocionar, quería cambiar y concienciar a todas esas personas que olvidan con el tiempo, que existe gente con menos motivos para luchar pero lo hacen, con menos motivos para sonreír pero lo consiguen, con menos motivos para vivir la vida, pero la viven plenamente en los demás. Hay que recordar al hombre de dónde viene, y creer que peleamos todos por lo mismo. Porque existen un tipo de personas que trabajan en silencio y hacen mucho ruido, que cambian destinos y llenan vidas. Gente como tú y como yo, exactamente iguales.

Hundreds of eyes were staring at me. I had told the story of my short existence to hundreds of politicians and heads of state. I did not want economic benefits or aid for my people. I only had one objective in mind: to bring about a small ethical change in people, focusing on social improvements rather than personal benefits. Global support that would place man as the target of weapons such as cooperation and fair development. I wanted to move, I wanted to change and raise the awareness all those people who forget that there are people with fewer reasons to fight but still do so, people with fewer reasons to live life but who live it to the full. We should remind man where he comes from and believe that we are all struggling for the same thing. Because there are people who work in silence and make a lot of noise, who change destinies and fill lives. People like you and like me, exactly the same.

Mi nombre es Anwar y significa luz.

My name is Anwar and it means light.

(Picture on the top: Oil Paint “The silent of Patara” By Sed Kaya http://www.sedkaya.com/ 

Leave a Reply

