شيء عن “ناتالي”.. – Something about Natalie

English translation:

“Do you know why you are here??” this was the investigator’s deep voice … He was sitting in front of me while I was sitting on an uncomfortable chair, handcuffed to the back and strongly blindfolded. I found myself crying inside the walls of myself: “I wish I know ..!” During that time there was a question harshly hitting my head: What have I done to be arrested at the headquarters of the Internal Security of Gaza Government?! I’m just a “poor” mechanic, seeking my living, and everyone in Al Shatiaa refugee camp in Gaza City – where I live – knows this well. I do not adopt any political or religious ideology/thought and did not belong to any organization. I never had any political activity. Why I’m here, then?!

Once he entered the interrogation room, the investigator began with general questions: Where do you live? What do you do? Have you finished your university studies? Where? Before adding his last question.

He repeated the same question: “I’ve asked you: Do you know why you’re here??”

– No, I swear.

– How is your relationship with the French? I mean the Frenchwomen??”

He said it in a sarcastic tone while I held firmly to my silence and tried to solve this “logarithm”: What does this man refer to??

A harsh blow hit my face. The problem is that you cannot expect from where the blow will come as long as you’re blindfolded. His voice comes to me again: “Answer the question!”

I asked him faintly: “I did not understand what you mean, Sir??”

The matter seemed as if I pressed a button inside him; blows and slaps were poured on me after he got up from his place. He was shouting: “do you pretend stupidity before me, you idiot? (blow) hey?! (slap) do you think you’re smart?! (another blow). . “And so forth.

I really no longer endure more blows and slaps. I told him: “Please, stop that. I swear I do not understand what you are talking about  … Sir, ask me a direct question and I will answer you…”

– “What is the kind of relationship between you and Natalie?”

Her name alone took me to another world. I feel my head spins like a fan. I broke the silence that reigned the room by repeating her name: “Natalie??”

– Yes, my dear: Natalie Lovri…Do you know her or not?? ”

From where he knows the name of Natalie and her family name, too?! No one knows my relationship with her except my adoptive mother.

I replied: “She is just a “Facebook” friend.”

It seems that I pressed the button of blows and strikes again! He stopped before he strongly grabs the collar of my shirt: “You scum, will you pretend foolishness before me?! Tell me what is the exact nature of your relationship with her?!”

I answered with a gasping voice: “She is my “Facebook” friend. We strongly admired each other; we were attached to each other. I had long chats with her on the “Facebook” and “Skype “… But why is this question? Why you ask me about her?”

He left the collar of my shirt to throw “his bomb” this time: “We have arrested her as soon as she stepped inside the Gaza Strip through the frontier tunnels with Egypt, and when we asked her about the reason of her coming here, she said literally: I have come for the sake of Rasheed Ahmed…! Through the information she gave to us during the interrogation, we carried out our investigations till we reached you. Do you understand now?”

The spin I feel becomes faster. For the first time in my life I feel such feeling. I could not bear it anymore. I felt two lines of tears continue their way on my unshaved chin. Why did you do that, Natalie?! Why did not you tell me that you will do it?

– “Hey?? Will you tell me now what you know?!”

His voice returned me to the reality. I asked him: “What do you want to know??”

– Your story with Natalie … “from A to Z.” By the way: is she a Jewish??”
– “Never. She is a Christian belonging to the Catholic doctrine.”
– So Start talking … I’m all ears …

Everything started via “Facebook” … If you ask me one day: What is the most wonderful invention in the twenty first century?? I will immediately answer you: “It is the Facebook!” It had allowed me – the “imprisoned” in the Gaza Strip and who had never travelled in his life – to know thousands of people of both sexes in various countries in addition to making my vision of the world a more inclusive one.

My good command of English helped me greatly to communicate with others. During the first years of the work of the “Facebook”, the friends’ addition was very easy and this allowed me to add many. Unfortunately, this is no longer available today. This “astounding invention” granted me the greatest gift in my life: Natalie. I saw her image for the first time in her “Facebook” account. She was really beautiful: she had wide eyes whose color perplexes you; you do not know whether they are green or grey or a combination of both colors! Her hair is light brown, tending to be blond. She has a white rounded face. Her smile in the picture with her clear teeth and rosy full lips was really captivating. I added her to my list of friends only for making acquaintance. But I never expected where our story will end!

In our first chat, she asked me: “Where are you from?” She wrote it in English which she writes and speaks correctly, almost without errors.

– I wrote to her “Palestine.” She replied with another question: “Palestine? Where is this country??”

I often met this question in my chats with foreigners in general, and especially from young men. I replied to her question as best as I could before you asking her, in turn, about her country. She answered: “France.”

She was the first French friend to know. Besides, France was, for me, a country enjoying a legendary reputation: it comprises Paris, this capital exemplary in beauty and splendor. Suffice it has the “Eiffel” Tower; this unmatched masterpiece, from my point of view.

I asked her: “In what city are you living in France?”

“In Dijon …”

It was the first time to hear about this city. To increase our acquaintance, I asked her to tell me more about it and so she did: It is the largest city in “Cote d’ore” province, located in “Burgundy” territory. She told me about herself: she is from a wealthy family and lives in a beautiful house in Dijon of which she showed me its pictures: It was a huge “villa” which I think its surface area exceeds my house with at least twenty times! She also told me that she studies at the Faculty of Law.

Natalie sent to me several pictures of her city located in northern France. It was really a wonderful city: the construction models vary in each district. It was a charming city with its diverse buildings: some were built according to the Gothic model while others according to the Renaissance and there were a lot of houses built in the eighteenth century. I started searching via “Google” for more information about Dijon: it was occupied twice in its history; the first time during the French – Prussian war in 1870, and the second during the Second World War by the Germans since 1941. Thus, it has tasted occupation like my country!

Natalie told me that her city is famous for “mustard”; this “product” which I only “discovered” after a long time of that chat. The Israeli siege of the Gaza Strip at that time was severe, and the food items permitted through the crossings were extremely limited, to the extent that the carbonated water, “chocolate”, “chips” and “macaroni” were only seen on TV, if there was electricity ever!!
*******************************************************

At the beginning of our relationship, she asked me that day: “Rasheed, why did not you tell me a lot about your life?”

I found myself recounting everything she likes to know. I told her about my birth place: the “SwedishVillage” located in front of the sea coast, at a spot adjacent to the frontier wires between the Gaza Strip and Egypt. The village composes of dozens of dirty huts of which the surface area of each does not exceed ​​forty square meters. These huts are roofed either by tin plates known as “zinco” or the “asbestos” unfortunate plates, and all did not protect us from the winter coldness or the summer heat. There were no floor tiles in our house; otherwise the floor was only composed of cement. There were not any amusement facilities, hospitals, or even a small clinic around us. I told her how I walked via a long road every day to my school which was several kilometers far from our village while I am a barefoot, whatever the weather conditions were. I was the eldest son of my parents who did not have other children, and this was in fact strange in our village as the least number of children in any family was five! However, the reason is that my mother was severely ill, and I could not know in that young age the essence of her unknown illness till today!

I told her how I became an orphan: My father died in a mysterious accident during a usual business trip as a fisherman, while my ill mother followed him a few months later. Her collapsed health could not bear this shock. And thus, I lost my parents at the age of seven. Moreover, I told her how I left my village when my uncles sent me to an orphanage where I spent four years without seeing any of them except during feasts or occasions. I had turned into a quiet, silent and depressive child exactly like the grave; the smile rarely knew her way to my face. This continued till Abu Ghalib enters my life: at that time he was in the middle of the fifth decade. He came to his friend, the orphanage manager, to adopt with his wife a child, for Abu Ghalib was sterile. The supervisors nominated me to him; they saw in me a “quiet and intelligent child.” He was able to settle the matter of adoption with my relatives, and for the first time I lived the happiest moments in my life with my new family.

It was clear that my story attracted her to a great extent; she continued to ask me about more details in my life, I told her: I narrated to her how Abu Ghalib and his wife cared for me when I moved to their house in Al Shatiaa refugee camp in GazaCity. It was the first time in my life to feel that I am part of a “real family” that is concerned with me: I have a father and mother who never treated me as an adopted child. I was gradually immersed in the world of Abu Ghalib; I even accompanied him during the summer vacations to be taught the secrets of “workmanship” which I learned in record time and he witnessed that I became a “professional mechanic” while I was in the first year at the university!

The year 2007 was sad to me, not only because of the bloody clashes that took place between Fatah and Hamas; not only because the division between the West Bank and the Gaza Strip took place only in the middle, but also because of something which increases the life blackness before me: the death of Abu Ghalib. Thus I became an orphan for the second time.

It was a warm day, though we were in late December. We took his corpse with great difficulty out of the alleys of Al Shatiaa refugee camp where our house is located in front of an alley whose width does not exceed almost one meter. If you were fat, it will be thus impossible to enter our alley. We hardly obtained a truck with an exorbitant amount to transport the corpse – accompanied by a limited number of family members and friends – to the cemetery. The siege began months ago and there was a severe crisis in all fuels. There were no building materials in the markets in order to properly construct his tomb. Even his white shroud was obtained with difficulty. The phenomenon of smuggling the goods we need via the frontier tunnels with Egypt was not yet known.

By the death of Abu Ghalib, I had indeed a heavy burden: I had to take over the workshop affairs to provide money for myself and for my mother. I had not yet known you, Natalie. It was destined to know you months later, and shortly before the Israeli aggression on Gaza which took place in late 2008. What I can never forget is your continuous contact with me via the “Facebook” upon the presence of electricity which was “cut off” most of the time.

*******************************************************
Our relationship became stronger as far as you can imagine: sometimes we spend long hours after her return from the university. She finished the licentiate studies during the years of our friendship and she completes the postgraduate studies till I return from the workshop, exhausted, tired. But I was always “thirsty” to meet her!

My adoptive mother repeatedly talked with me on marriage, always with the same phrase: “I want to feel assured before I die! I am willing to sell my jewelry; I have an amount of money. It is not a large sum but it is enough, God willing, for the costs of marrying “a good wife”. You both will live with me in this house, what do you think??” I evaded her whenever she tried to talk with me on that subject. At that time I had been knowing Natalie for more than four years. Our strong attachment to each other became to a large extent remarkable. So, I decided to talk about her with my mother for the first time, after our relationship remained my special secret which no one knows except me. I was surprised by her opposing attitude regarding even just thinking of marrying Natalie: “My son, this girl is not your equivalent and so are you”. She is a Christian while you are a Muslim. She is living in France in a “villa” resembling palaces and you live in a miserable house in the camp. She is the daughter of a wealthy family accustomed to pomp and “splendor” while you are an orphan who tasted the bitterness of misery and destitution since childhood. Her culture is not like yours or your habits. Have you talked with her on that subject?? Are you sure that she will accept to come to Gaza and live with us here, in our miserable house??” When I refused to answer, she continued: “Be wise, my son, and forget her. Find another girl who will agree to marry you, and let she be from Gaza. Forget illusions and fantasies …” The problem is that her words were quite logical! I’ve discovered that I was living in “rosy dreams” during all that period, almost oblivious to the “blackness of the nightmarish reality” in which I live! After this conversation, I did not enjoy blissful sleep for weeks as I was thinking where this bizarre relationship will end. In the end, I have made my final decision and I did the following: I sent my last message to Natalie; its significance was that our relationship cannot continue. Each of us has his religion, customs and traditions which are quite different from the other. I reminded her of my “catastrophic” situation which she knows well, and that she lives in “paradise” while my life in Gaza is closer to life in the “hell” of concentration camps. There is no common factor between us … This is impossible. I then deleted her from my “Facebook” friends’ list and I completely ignored all her messages in which she sentimentalizes and asks me about what happened. In one of them she said: “I love you, Rasheed and you love me, so why you torture yourself and torture me as well?!” I did not answer. As long as our love is doomed to death, let it die now! We will be tormented a little bit, but the result will be better for both of us. She is beautiful and can find thousands of young people in Dijon who desire to marry her, especially as she is also rich. As for me, I am an unfortunate Palestinian living in Gaza and earning his living from his workshop under sweeping unemployment which made my university degree just a worthless paper. She stopped writing to me while I continued my life immersed in constant torment. Oh, Natalie! Oh My eternal torture. I wish you have witnessed how long I was agonized because of my decision. But what was solacing me is that I controlled myself so that you could be happy with someone else. But I was surprised to know that she loves me to this extent, and that this “crazy” came to Gaza for my sake! This was the last thing I expected …!!
*****************************************************************
The investigator listened to my story and did not interrupt me. How long have I sat while narrating it? I do not know. But with the end of the last letter, I perceived his extreme sympathy with both of us. He told me: “Never mind. You will be released today, Rasheed. We’re sorry for bothering you …” I felt him standing up from his place opposite to me. I shouted to him: “One moment, Sir! What happened to Natalie after you arrested her?”

– Do you insist to know?

– Certainly …

He took a deep breath after which he released a long exhalation in the room air and answered: “After investigating her, we handed her over to the Egyptian security services. She penetrated into the Gaza Strip without any coordination with the Egyptian side which authorizes her to come here. I expect that she will be deported after the intervention of the embassy of her country in Cairo, so do not worry. In the end, she is a “foreigner” and belongs to a state enjoying great significance and status in the world. But I also expect that her name will be placed in the “black list”, which practically means that she will not be able to enter the Egyptian territories … for a long time at least.”

Then the man let me amid my thoughts, and I was still handcuffed and blindfolded. May God forgive you, Natalie! Why did you do that? Despite everything, I will continue to love you till I go to my final resting place. Your love is my inescapable fate. Then I began thinking: What should I do when they take off my handcuffs and release me of this prison? Do I send her a message asking her to forgive me for all the pain and suffering I caused to her? Or do I continue my miserable life and leave things as they are so as not to increase her pain?? I do not know what to do … Really, I do not know …

Orignal version:

“هل تعرف لم أنتَ هنا؟؟ “، جاءني صوت المحقق العميق من مكان جلوسه أمامي، فيما كنتُ جالساً على كرسي غير مريح، مقيد اليدين إلى الخلف، معصوب العينين بقوة. وجدتُ نفسي أهتف داخل جدران ذاتي: “ليتني أعرف.. !” طوال ذلك الوقت كان سؤال يَدُكُّ رأسي بقسوة: ما الذي فعلته لكي أُعتقل في مقر جهاز الأمن الداخلي، التابع لحكومة غزة؟! أنا مجرد ميكانيكي “غلبان”، أسعى وراء لقمة عيشي، وكل شخص في مخيم الشاطئ للاجئين في مدينة غزة حيث أسكن يعرف هذا الأمر جيداً. لم أعتنق أي فكر سياسي أو ديني، ولم أنتمِ إلى أي تنظيم كان. لم يكن لي أي نشاط سياسي على الإطلاق. لِمَ أنا هنا إذن؟!

لقد بدأ المحقق بمجرد دخوله غرفة التحقيق بأسئلة عامة: أين تسكن؟ ماذا تعمل؟ هل أتممتَ دراستك الجامعية؟ أين أتممتها؟ قبل أن يضيف سؤاله الأخير.

كرر السؤال ذاته مرة أخرى: ” لقد سألتُكْ: هل تعرف لم أنت هنا؟؟ “.

–          لا والله.

–          كيف هي علاقتك مع الفرنسيين؟ أقصد الفرنسيات؟؟

قالها بلهجة ساخرة، فيما بقيتُ أنا معتصماً بصمتي، وأنا أحاول حل هذا “اللوغاريتم”: ما الذي يُلَمِّح إليه هذا الرجل؟؟

وجدتُ لطمة قاسية على وجهي. المشكلة أنك لا تستطيع توقع من أين ستأتيك الضربة طالما أنك معصوب العينين. عاد صوته يأتيني من جديد:”  أجب عن السؤال! “.

سألته بصوت ضعيف: ” لم أفهم ما الذي تقصده يا سيدي؟؟ “.

كأنني ضغطتُ على زر ما بداخله، لتنهال علي الضربات والصفعات التي بدأ يصبها علي بعد أن نهض من مكانه، وهو يردد صارخاً: ” أتتغابى معي يا حيوان؟ (ضربة) ها؟! (صفعة) تعتقد أنك ذكي؟! (ضربة أخرى)..”، وهكذا دواليك.

 لم أعد أحتمل المزيد بحق. قلتُ له: ” لو سمحت توقف عن  الضرب. والله العظيم أنا لا أفهم عم تتحدث .. يا سيدي اسألني سؤالاً مباشراً وسأجيبك.. “.

– ما هو نوع العلاقة بينك وبين ناتالي؟

اسمها وحده نقلني إلى عالم آخر. أشعر برأسي يدور حول ذاته كالمروحة. كسرتُ حاجز الصمت الذي خيم على الغرفة، وأنا أردد اسمها: ” ناتالي؟؟ “

–          نعم يا حبيبي: ناتالي لوفري.. أتعرفها أم لا؟؟ “.

من أين يعرف اسم ناتالي واسم عائلتها أيضاً؟! لا أحد يعرف بعلاقتي معها سوى والدتي بالتبني وحدها.

أجبتهُ: ” مجرد صديقة على “الفيس بوك”.. “.

يبدو أنني ضغطتُ على زر اللطمات والضربات من جديد! توقف قبل أن يجذبني من ياقة قميصي بقوة: ” أيها الحثالة هل ستمثل دور الغبي معي؟! قل لي ما هي طبيعة العلاقة بينكما بالضبط؟! “.

قلتُ له بصوت لاهث: ” هي صديقتي على “الفيس بوك”. حدث بيننا إعجاب قوي، وتعلق كلانا بالآخر. تحدثتُ معها مطولاً عبر “الفيس بوك” و”السكايب”.. ولكن لِمَ هذا السؤال؟ لِمَ تسألونني عنها هي بالضبط؟ “.

أفلت ياقة قميصي، ليلقي “قُنبلته” هذه المرة: ” لقد أمسكنا بها بمجرد أن دخلت قطاع غزة عبر الأنفاق الحدودية مع مصر، ولما سألناها عن سبب قدومها إلى هنا قالت بالحرف الواحد: لقد أتيتُ من أجل رشيد أحمد..! ومن خلال المعلومات التي أعطتنا إياها خلال التحقيق معها، قمنا بتحرياتنا إلى أن وصلنا إليك. هل فهمت الآن؟ “.

أصبح سرعة دوران رأسي أكبر. لأول مرة في حياتي أشعر بهذا الشعور. لم أعد أحتمل. شعرت بخطين من الدموع يواصلان طريقهما على ذقني غير الحليقة. لِمَ فعلتِ ذلك يا ناتالي؟! لم تخبريني بأنك ستحاولين فعلها أبدا!

–          هاه؟؟ هل ستخبرني الآن بما لديك؟!

انتزعني صوته من دوامة تفكيري. سألتُه: ” ماذا تريد أن تعرف؟؟”.

–          قصتك مع ناتالي.. “من طقطق للسلام عليكم”. بالمناسبة: أهي يهودية؟؟

–          أبداً. إنها مسيحية تنتمي للمذهب الكاثوليكي.

–          إذن ابدأ بالحديث.. كلي آذان صاغية..

*                                 *                                 *                         *                                   *

كل شيء بدأ عبر “الفيس بوك”.. لو سألتني ذاتَ يوم: ما هو أروع اختراع في القرن الحادي والعشرين؟؟ لأجبتكَ فوراً: “إنه الفيس بوك”! لقد أتاح لي أنا “المسجون” في قطاع غزة، والذي لم يسافر في حياته، أن أتعرف على آلاف البشر من الجنسين، بمختلف أقطار الأرض، وأن تصبح رؤيتي للعالم أكثر شمولاً..

ساعدتني معرفتي الجيدة باللغة الانجليزية بشكل كبير في التواصل مع الآخرين. كانت إضافة الأشخاص، خلال السنوات الأولى من عمل “الفيس بوك” سهلة للغاية، مما أتاح لي إضافة الكثيرين. لم يعد هذا الأمر متاحاً اليوم للأسف الشديد. لقد أهداني هذا “الاختراع المذهل” أعظم هدية حظيتُ بها في حياتي: ناتالي. رأيتُ صورتها للمرة الأولى في حسابها بـ”الفيس بوك”. كانت جميلة حقاً: العينان واسعتان، تحار في لونهما إن كانا خضراوان أم رماديان أم مزيج من هذا وذاك! شعرها بني فاتح مائل للشقرة. الوجه أبيض ومستدير. كانت ابتسامتها في الصورة بأسنانها الناصعة وشفتيها الورديتين الممتلئتين ساحرة بالفعل. أضفتها لقائمة أصدقائي من باب “التعارف” ليس إلا. لكنني لم أكن أتوقع أبداً إلى أين ستنتهي بنا الحكاية!

سألتْني في أول محادثة بيننا: ” من أين أنت؟ “. كَتَبَتْها بالإنجليزية التي كانت تكتبها وتتكلم بها بشكل صحيح وبلا أخطاء تقريباً.

–          “من فلسطين”، كَتَبْتُ لها. رَدَّت بسؤال آخر: ” فلسطين؟ أين يقع هذا البلد؟؟ “.

كثيراً ما قابلتُ هذا السؤال في حواراتي مع الأجانب بشكل عام، وخاصة من الشباب صغار السن. أجبتها على سؤالها بأفضل ما أستطيع، قبل أن أسألها بدورها عن بلدها، فأجابت: ” فرنسا”.

كانت هي أول صديقة فرنسية أتعرف عليها، كما كانت فرنسا بالنسبة لي بلداً يحظى بسمعة أسطورية: إن به باريس، هذه العاصمة التي تعد مضرب المثل في الجمال والروعة. يكفي أن بها برج “إيفل”! هذه التحفة التي لا مثيل لها من وجهة نظري.

 سألتها: ” من أي مدينة أنتِ بفرنسا؟”

–          “من مدينة ديجون..”.

كانت المرة الأولى التي أسمع بها بهذه المدينة. طلبتُ منها من باب الزيادة في التعارف أن تحدثني عنها أكثر، فراحت تخبرني بالمزيد: إنها أكبر مدن مقاطعة “كوت دور”، الواقعة بإقليم “بورغونيا”. حَكَتْ لي عن ذاتها: هي من أسرة غنية، تقطن ببيت جميل بديجون، أرتني صُوَرَه: كان عبارة عن “فيلا” ضخمة، والتي أظن أنها  تفوق بيتي في المساحة بعشرين مرة على الأقل! كما أخبرتني  أنها تدرس في كلية الحقوق بالجامعة.

أرسلت إلي ناتالي عدة صور لمدينتها الموجودة شمال فرنسا. كانت مدينة رائعة بحق: تختلف طرز البناء بين كل حي وآخر. كانت مدينة ساحرة بمبانيها المتنوعة ما بين الطراز القوطي، بعضها الآخر بني  بعصر النهضة، فيما كان هنالك الكثير من المنازل المبنية في القرن الثامن عشر. رُحتُ أبحث عبر “جوجل” على المزيد من المعلومات عن ديجون: كانت قد احتلت مرتين في تاريخها، المرة الأولى خلال الحرب الفرنسية- البروسية عام 1870، والمرة الأخرى خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية من قبل الألمان منذ عام 1941. لقد ذاقتْ طعم الاحتلال إذن مثل بلادي!

أخبرتني ناتالي بأن مدينتهم مشهورة بـ”المسطردة”! هذا “المنتَج” الذي لم “أكتشفه” إلا بعد وقت طويل من تلك المحادثة، فقد كان الحصار الإسرائيلي وقتها شديداً على قطاع غزة، وكانت الأصناف التي تدخل إلينا عبر المعابر محدودة للغاية، لدرجة أن المياه الغازية و”الشوكولاتة” و”الشيبس” و”المكرونة” كانت أشياء نراها في التلفاز فقط، إن وُجِدَتْ الكهرباء أصلاً!!

*                                 *                                 *                         *                                   *

في بداية علاقتنا سوية، سألتني يومها: ” رشيد. لم تخبرني الكثير عن حياتك؟”

وجدتني أسرد كل شيء ترغب بمعرفته. حدثتها عن مكان ميلادي: “القرية السويدية” الواقعة أمام ساحل البحر، عند بقعة مجاورة للأسلاك الحدودية بين قطاع غزة ومصر. القرية عبارة عن عشرات الأكواخ القذرة، التي لم تزد مساحة أي منها عن أربعين متراً مربعاً، مسقوفة إما بألواح الصفيح المعروفة بـ”الزينكو”، أو ألواح “الإسبست” التعسة التي لم تكن تقينا جميعها برد الشتاء أو هجير الصيف. لم يكن هنالك بلاط لبيتنا، بل كانت الأرض مكونة من الإسمنت فقط.  لم تكن  هنالك حولنا مرافق للعب أو مستشفيات أو حتى عيادة صغيرة. أخبرتها كيف كنتُ أقطع الطريق الطويل يومياً إلى مدرستي التي كانت تبعد عن قريتنا عدة كيلومترات وأنا حافي القدمين، مهما كانت ظروف الطقس. كنتُ الابن البكر لوالديَّ، اللذين لم يرزقا بأطفال غيري، وكان هذا الأمر غريباً بالفعل في قريتنا التي لا يقل عدد الأطفال في أي أسرة بها في الغالب عن خمسة! إلا أن السبب هو أن والدتي كانت مريضة بشدة، ولم أستطع وأنا بعد في ذلك السن الصغير معرفة كنه مرضها المجهول بالنسبة لي حتى اليوم!

أخبرتها كيف أصبحتُ يتيم الأبوين: توفي والدي في حادث غامض خلال رحلة عمل معتادة له كصياد، فيما لحقته أمي المريضة بعدها بشهور معدودة. لم تحتمل صحتها المنهارة هذه الصدمة. هكذا فقدتُ والديَّ وأنا في سن السابعة. أخبرتها أيضاً كيف تركتُ قريتي عندما أرسلني أعمامي إلى دارٍ لرعاية الأيتام، قضيتُ فيها أربعة أعوام، دون أن أرى أياً منهم إلا خلال الأعياد أو المناسبات. كنتُ قد تحولتُ إلى طفل هادئ وصموت وكئيب كالقبر تماماً، قلما عرفت الابتسامة طريقها إلى وجهي. إلى أن حل أبو غالب في حياتي: كان عمره وقتها في منتصف العقد الخامس، وقد جاء إلى صديقه، الذي كان مدير دار الرعاية،  كي يتبنى هو وزوجته طفلاً منها، لأن أبا غالب لم يكن قادراً على الإنجاب. زكَّاني له المشرفون الذي رأوا فيَّ “طفلاً هادئاً وذكياً”. استطاع تسوية مسألة التبني مع أقاربي، ولأول مرة عشتُ أحلى لحظات السعادة في عمري مع عائلتي الجديدة.

كان واضحاً بأن قصتي استهوتها بشكل كبير، فراحت تسألني عن المزيد من تفاصيل حياتي، فرحتُ أخبرها: حكيتُ لها  كيف تولى أبو غالب وزوجته  مسألة رعايتي، حيث انتقلتُ إلى منزلهما الكائن بمخيم الشاطئ للاجئين بمدينة غزة. كانت المرة الأولى في حياتي التي أشعر فيها بأني جزء من “أسرة حقيقية” تقلق علي: لدي أب وأم لم يعاملاني قط كابن متبنى لهما. شيئاً فشيئاً انغمستُ في عالم أبي غالب، حتى أنه صار يصطحبني خلال الإجازات الصيفية ليعلمني أسرار “الصنعة”، التي تشربتها خلال وقت قياسي، لدرجة أنني أصبحتُ “ميكانيكياً محترفاً” بشهادته هو، وأنا في السنة الأولى بالجامعة!

كان عام 2007 عاماً حزيناً لي، ليس بسبب الاشتباكات الدموية التي وقعت بين حركتي فتح وحماس فقط، ولا لأن الانقسام بين الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة قد حدث في منتصفه فحسب، بل هنالك ما زاد الحياة سواداً بالنسبة لي: وفاة أبي غالب. هكذا أصبحتُ يتيماً للمرة الثانية.

كان الجو دافئاً يومها، رغم أننا كنا في أواخر شهر ديسمبر. بصعوبة بالغة أخرجنا جثمانه من أزقة مخيم الشاطئ للاجئين حيث كان منزلنا، الواقع أمام زقاق لا يزيد عرضه عن متر واحد تقريباً. لو كنتَ بديناً لكان من المستحيل أن تلج زقاقنا ذاك. بصعوبة تدبرتُ شاحنة بمبلغ باهظ لنقل الجثمان برفقة عدد محدود من الأهل والأصحاب لكي ننقله إلى المقبرة، فالحصار قد بدأ منذ شهور، وكانت هنالك أزمة شديدة في المحروقات كافة. لم يكن هنالك مواد بناء في الأسواق لبناء قبره بشكل لائق. حتى كفنه الأبيض تدبرنا أمره بصعوبة. لم تكن ظاهرة تهريب ما نحتاجه من البضائع عبر الأنفاق الحدودية مع مصر قد ظهرت للوجود بعد..

بوفاة أبي غالب، أصبح حملي ثقيلاً بالفعل: كان علي تولي شئون الورشة، للإنفاق على نفسي وأمي. لم أكن قد عرفتكِ بعد يا ناتالي. كان مقدراً لي أن أعرفك بعدها بشهور، وقبل العدوان الإسرائيلي على غزة بفترة وجيزة، والذي جرى أواخر عام 2008. ما لا أنساه لكِ أبداً هو تواصلك المستمر معي خلال عبر “الفيس بوك”، بقدر ما كانت تسمح لنا الكهرباء التي كانت “مقطوعة” جُلَّ الوقت.

*                                 *                                 *                         *                                   *

ازداد تعلقنا ببعضنا البعض إلى أبعد حد يمكنَك تخيله: كنا نمضي ساعات طوال أحياناً، بعد رجوعها من الجامعة، حيث انتهت هي من دراسة الليسانس خلال سنوات صداقتنا، لتقوم بإكمال دراستها العليا بـ”الماستر”، فيما أكون قد رجعتُ من ورشة الميكانيكا، منهكاً متعباً لكنني كنتُ “عَطِشَاً” إلى لقائها دوماً!

فاتحتني أمي بالتبني بموضوع الزواج مراراً بالعبارة ذاتها: ” أريد أن أفرح بك يا ولدي قبل أن أموت! أنا على استعداد أن أبيع حُليَّ الذهبية، ولدي مبلغ ادخرته من المال. لا بأس به لكنه يكفي بإذن الله للتكلف بتكاليف زواجك من “بنت الحلال”. حيث ستسكن أنت وإياها معي بهذا المنزل، فما رأيك؟؟ “. رحتُ أتهرب منها كلما حاولت فتح الموضوع معي مجدداً. كانت قد مضت على علاقتي بناتالي أكثر من أربع سنوات. لقد صار ملحوظاً تعلق كل منا بالآخر إلى حد كبير. لذا، قررتُ أن أحدثَ أمي عنها للمرة الأولى، بعد أن  بقيت علاقتي معها سري الخاص الذي لا يعرفه أحد سواي. فوجئتُ بموقفها المعارض حتى لمجرد التفكير بالزواج من ناتالي: ” يا بني هذه الفتاة “مش من توبنا ولا إنتا من توبها”.  هي مسيحية وأنت مسلم. هي تقيم في فرنسا بـ”فيلا” أقرب إلى القصور، وأنت تعيش في بيت بائس بالمخيم. هي ابنة أسرة غنية اعتادت على الأبهة و”الفخفخة”، وأنت يتيم ذقت مرارة البؤس والعوز منذ الطفولة. ثقافتها ليست كثقافتك أو عاداتك. هل فاتحتها بالموضوع؟؟ هل أنتَ واثق بأنها ستقبل المجيء إلى غزة وأن تحيا معنا هنا، في بيتنا البائس هذا؟؟”. لما وجدَتني ممتنعاً عن الجواب، واصلت هي: ” كن عاقلاً يا ولدي وانسها. ابحث عن فتاة أخرى تقبل الزواج بك، ولتكن من غزة. دعك من الأوهام والخيال ..”.

المشكلة أن كلامها كان منطقياً تماماً! لقد اكتشفتُ أنني كنتُ أحيا في “الأحلام الوردية” كل تلك المدة، متناسياً “سواد الواقع الكابوسي” الذي أحيا به! بعد هذه المحادثة، لم أحظ بنوم هانئ لأسابيع، وأنا أفكر إلى أين ستنتهي هذه العلاقة العجيبة بيننا نحن الاثنين. في النهاية قمتُ باتخاذ قراري النهائي، وفعلتُ التالي: أرسلتُ إلى ناتالي رسالتي الأخيرة والتي كان مفادها بأن علاقتنا لا يمكن أن تستمر، فكل منا لديه دينه وعاداته وتقاليده المختلفة تماماً عن الآخر. ذَكَّرْتُها في رسالتي بظروفي “الكارثية” التي تعرفها جيداً، وأنها تحيا في “الجنة”، فيما ظروف حياتي بغزة أقرب إلى الحياة بـ”جحيم” معسكرات الاعتقال. لا مجال للالتقاء بيننا أبداً.. ذلك مستحيل. قمتُ بعدها بحذفها من قائمة أصدقائي بـ”الفيس بوك”. وتجاهلتُ تماماً كافة رسائلها التي أرسلتها لاستعطافي وسؤالي عما حدث. قالت لي في إحداها: ” أنا أحبك يا رشيد وأنت تحبني فلم تعذب نفسك وتعذبني؟! “. لم أرد. طالما أن حبنا محكوم عليه بالموت، فليمُت الآن! سنتعذب قليلاً، لكن النتيجة ستكون أفضل لكلينا. هي جميلة تستطيع أن تجد ألف شاب بديجون يتمنونها، خاصة وأنها غنية أيضاً. أما أنا فشاب فلسطيني تعس يحيا بغزة، ويبحث عن رزقه من خلال ورشته، في ظل بطالة كاسحة جعلت من شهادتي الجامعية مجرد ورقة لا قيمة لها. تَوَقَّفَتْ عن الكتابة لي، فيما واصلتُ أنا حياتي المغمسة بالعذاب المستمر. آه يا ناتالي! يا عذابي الأزلي. ليتكَ رأيتَني بعدها كيف تعذبتُ طويلاً بسبب قراري هذا. ولكن ما كان يعزيني أنني كبحتُ جِماح نفسي كي تَسْعَدَ هي  مع شخص آخر غيري. لكنني فوجئتُ بأنها تحبني إلى هذا الحد، وأن هذه “المجنونة” قد أتتْ إلى غزة من أجلي أنا! لقد كان هذا آخر ما كنتُ أتوقعه..!!

*                                 *                                 *                         *                                   *

استمع المحقق إلى حكايتي التي لم يقاطعني خلالها أبداً. كم مضى علي وأنا مستمر في سردها؟ لستُ أدري. لكنني لمستُ مع انتهاء الحرف الأخير منها مدى تعاطفه الشديد معي و”معها” في الوقت ذاته. قال لي: ” لا بأس. سيتم إخلاء سبيلك اليوم يا رشيد. نحن آسفون لإزعاجك..”. شعرتُ به ينهض من مكانه قبالتي. صحتُ به: ” لحظة يا سيدي! ما الذي حدث مع  ناتالي بعد أن قمتم بالإمساك بها؟ “.

–          هل أنت مُصِرٌّ على معرفة ذلك؟

–          بالتأكيد..

التقط نفساً عميقاً، أطلق بعده زفرة طويلة في هواء الغرفة، وهو يجيب: ” بعد التحقيق معها، قمنا بتسليمها لأجهزة الأمن المصرية. لقد تسللت إلى قطاع غزة، ولم يكن لديها أي تنسيق مع الجانب المصري يخولها بالقدوم إلى هنا. أتوقع أنه قد تم ترحيلها بعد تدخل سفارة بلادها بالقاهرة، لذا لا تقلق بهذا الشأن. إنها في نهاية الأمر”أجنبية”، وتنتمي إلى دولة ذات ثقل ومكانة كبيرين في العالم. لكنني أتوقع أيضاً أن اسمها سيوضع في “القائمة السوداء”، مما يعني عملياً أنها لن تتمكن بعد ذلك من دخول الأراضي المصرية.. لوقت طويل على الأقل “.

تركني الرجل بعدها وسط دوامة أفكاري، ولم أزل مقيداً معصوب العينين بعد. سامحكِ الله يا ناتالي! لِمَ فعلتِ ذلك؟ برغم كل شيء، سأظل أحبك إلى أن ألج مثواي الأخير. حبكِ هو قدري الذي لا مهرب منه. بدأتُ بعدها أفكر: ما الذي ينبغي علي فعله عندما يفكون قيودي ويدعونني أرحل من هذا السجن؟ هل أرسلُ لكِ رسالة أطلب منكِ فيها مسامحتي عن كل الآلام والمعاناة التي تسببتُ لكِ بها؟ أم أمضي في حياتي التعسة، وأترك الأمور كما هي كيلا أزيد من آلامك أكثر؟؟ لستُ أدري ماذا سأفعل.. حقيقة لستُ أدري..

سيد إسماعيل – فلسطين

One thought on “شيء عن “ناتالي”.. – Something about Natalie

Leave a Reply

